Home > exhibitions > hurford hardwood portrait prize

Hurford Hardwood Portrait Prize

The Hurford Hardwood Portrait Prize is a biennial prize. Now in its 6th year the prize started as The Northern Rivers Portrait Prize, a painting and drawing prize open to artists Australia wide whose artwork depicted a person from the Northern Rivers. It has since expanded to include portraits of any subject in any medium (see terms and conditions). The prize is open to artists nationally.

Winner: $10,000 (acquisitive prize)

The Hurford Hardwood Portrait Prize exhibition will be officially opened at 12 noon on Saturday 28 July and continues until 23 September 2018.

Judge: Dr Michael Brand, Director, Art Gallery of NSW

Finalists for the 2018 Hurford Hardwood Portrait Prize are:

Abbey McCulloch

Amanda Bromfield

Amanda Penrose Hart

Andre Bowen

Anne-Marie Zanetti

Ashley Frost

Caroline Zilinsky

Chelsea Gustafsson

Chris Hazell

Clara Adolphs

Clare Thackway

Corinna Berndt

David Wells

Dr Darien Midwinter

Fleur Diamond

Geoff Harvey

Guy Morgan

Hilary Herrmann and James Guppy

Ian Roberts

Ildiko Hammond

Jacklyn Wagner

James Bowles-Leeson

James J De Weaver

Jane Theau

Jenny Johns

John Smith and Nikky-Morgan Smith

Karen Preston

Kendal Gear

Kenneth Craig Lambert

KHR Stewart

Kylie Foley

Lisa Axiotis

Liz Stute

Lucas Wright

Lucila Zentner

Lynden Stone

Marc Stapelberg

Marian Drew

Martin Claydon

Martin Edge

Matilda Michell

Matthew O'Brien

Maya Veit

Meg K Nielsen

Michael Simms

Nic Mason

Nicholas Ferguson

Nicole Kelly (winner)

Nicole Monks

Raimond de Weerdt

Raj Panda

Rene Bolten

Rikki Fisher

Robert Malherbe

Ryan Mugan

Sachin Moncrieff

Samuel Condon

Stephen Nothling

Steven Giese

Symone Male

Thomas Readett

Todd Fuller

Tony Kearney

Tony Leitch

Trinity Leonard

Vanessa White

Virginia Hodgkinson

Zom Osborne (highly commended)


Lismore Regional Gallery were delighted with Dr Michael Brands selection of Nicole Kelly’s Jumaadi + Clouds + Rain as winner of the 2018 Hurford Hardwood Portrait Prize. This work will now form an important part of the gallery’s permanent collection.